Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone prefer one winter tire for the IS over the other?

the Michelin Pilot Alpine
The Bridgestone Blizzak MZ-01 QZ
Bridgestone Blizzak LM-22 HZ

Or other Winter Tire suggestions Welcomed.

Paul

·
Registered
20 Posts
We decided on the Blizzak MZ-01 (205/55/16)with 16" Konig Reign wheels.

[This message has been edited by mellowyello (edited September 25, 2000).]

·
Registered
537 Posts
My set of Michelin Pilot Alpin tires (205-55-16) on 16" Konig Reign wheels should be arriving in a couple of weeks. I've never used winter tires before, so I'm no expert. I did do some research before buying and the Michelins seemed to be very good.

Rob

------------------
2001 IS300
Spectra Blue Mica/Ivory
LS, LD, HH, SR, 17" wheels
2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
4.7L, QuadraDrive, UpCountry
Patriot Blue, Fully loaded

·
Registered
3,339 Posts
Hmm, let me ask for your opinions. I live in NJ, where it snows occasionally, nothing drastic, rarely. Shall I get snow or all-year tires? The reason I'm asking is don't snow tires dimish quicker if there is no snow on the ground? So wouldn't it make more sense to get all-year tires. I know this question has been beaten to death so go easy on me.

-crontab -r

------------------
An Ecstatic Owner of a Fully-Loaded Graphite Gray 2001 Lexus IS 300

·
Registered
537 Posts
If it only snows rarely where you drive, I think all-season tires would be the best choice. They do a good job in the snow (I've used them for years here in MN) and they should give a lot longer life than true winter tires or the performance tires that come stock on the IS.

Rob

·
Registered
178 Posts
Originally posted by crontab: