Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up guys. About a month ago I slammed up against a curb in some snow. I bent the right rear rim, so i put the spare on and got a new set of tires. Ever since the accident I have been hearing a slight metal scraping or grinding coming from the right rear wheel area. It sounds like my wheel bearing is f*****.

Whats the best route to take for replacing this and/or correctly diagnosing this as the problem? Is it a practical idea to order the part online from irontoad.com and try to install it myself? I'm fairly skilled with working on my car, but I don't know if there is a way to get around pressing the bearing in if it needs to be. Would it be a better idea to pay twice as much and go to my trusted mechanic to get it installed? Has anyone replaced one successfully?

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
anyone?

·
Registered
791 Posts
I am no mechanic but I would jack that wheel up and spin it around to see if it really squeals from there. I don't know which wheel is your problem, but from looking at the shop manual (attached) there are too many special tools required to do the job. As me, I would take it to a Toyoya dealer since they may have the right tools and they cost less than Lexus dealer.

·
Registered
269 Posts
I had it done a few months ago. Best price I could find was parkplace lexus:
Park Place Lexus Plano