Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I have a V1 and am sick of that power cord hanging down. I was wondering if any of you guys have done a hard wire install for any radar detector. If so, can you post instructions on how to do it and possibly some pics? How hard is this install? I am not too experienced with stuff like this but I can probably figure it out if its not too hard. I was thinking about possibly tapping into that homelink thing but I am not sure. I don't want to loose any functionality of anything in the car (map light, homelink, etc.) Thanks guys.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks but I am a little unclear on what you actually did. I don't need to worry about the concealed display cause I dont have one. Where did you get the power from? It looks like from under the steering wheel? Did you just take the wire up the side pillar and through the top? If so, how do you remove the panels? I have never removed them so that is why I am asking. Thanks in advance.

·
Useless
5,346 Posts
GreenLex said:
Hey guys,
I have a V1 and am sick of that power cord hanging down. I was wondering if any of you guys have done a hard wire install for any radar detector. If so, can you post instructions on how to do it and possibly some pics? How hard is this install? I am not too experienced with stuff like this but I can probably figure it out if its not too hard. I was thinking about possibly tapping into that homelink thing but I am not sure. I don't want to loose any functionality of anything in the car (map light, homelink, etc.) Thanks guys.
I dont have pics, but I can tell you where to power and ground the unit.