Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so i was originally deciding to go with the srt stage 2.75 kit but for various reasons (mainly budget) i started to consider other kits. $6,000 is a little high for my taste right now (esp considering the shipping costs down here in hawaii)

so i looked at the turbonetics kit for about $5000 shipped and installed locally. that was perfect since i can only allot $5,000 for the project right now. but getting to the matter at hand. my installer/tuner called me up today saying he has a used srt kit for sale. guy's only asking around $4,000 for it. only has 12k on the kit, about 3k on the turbo (previous owner before him replaced the turbo prior to sale) not only does the $4,000 include the kit, but a full 3 in. exhaust setup as well, plus a boost controller.

pros: original kit desired at a fraction of the cost + more equipment

cons: i will be the third owner, i'm also new to the F/I world and i'm not too sure what to look for other than shaft play. although i will be having my tuner and original owner of the kit look over things before hand, i'm not so sure if i should go with it or not.

any help would greatly be appreciated. thanks in advance guys!

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
an SRT Stage 2.5 Kit just sold here in Seattle for $2500, and it was supposedly in great condition.

·
Registered
4,172 Posts
great deal either way on the srt kit,(make sure its a srt kit) but honestly your gunna need more money that what your expecting, especially since your new at FI. i'm not trying to lead you the wrong way or nothing. its just expensive. little stuff adds up.

its good to have a extra credit card justtttt in case

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
Talk to SRT guys they're helpful even when its not new :)

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
that's why i'm leaving an extra $2,000 to use for 'oh shit' money =P
haha i know that's not even a whole lot (especially with what we do)