Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ultimate iPod Integration Guide

Hi guys. It’s my first post here. I bought an IS300 2003 in May 2006 and I’ve been hanging around on this forum since then. I must say that I learned a lot and I did want to put something up to thank you all. I don’t know that much about cars yet, but I’ve been playing with iPod since 2001. Therefore, I decided to write up this guide. I know that pretty much everything in this guide has been said before, but now you can find it in one place. I used many existing guides and tutorial to build mine:

============================================
Ultimate iPod Integration Guide
So you have an iPod and you want to be able to play it through your IS sound system? There is a few things to consider before spending any money. There 2 things you must think of for your integration kit:
• An audio connection to your stereo (and the possibility to charge your iPod)
• A mount to prevent your ipod from flying around in your cockpit (optional)

Connecting the iPod to your IS300’s stereo
Here are the 5 most common solutions:
1) FM Transmitter
2) Tape cassette adapter
3) AUX-IN mod
4) After market iPod adapters for stock head unit (HU)
5) After market receiver with AUX-IN

Just a side note on outputting your iPod to your car stereo: it’s always much better if you can use the dock connector instead of the headphone port to connect your iPod since you will bypass the iPod internal amplifier and therefore reducing distortion at high volume level. Where or not you can use the dock connector depends on the devices you buy and the method you use to connect your iPod.

1) FM transmitters