Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the IS300/lexus area but not to cars.

heres the issue i have:

car is a 2001 Lexus IS300, E-shift (auto) with 73,000

i just recently purchased the car in july. i have a 30,000 mile extended warranty. car has an AEM cold air intake on it (was on the car when i got it) it will get hung up in 4th gear. basically it wont shift into 5th. you can help its sometimes with the gas, but sometimes you have to switch to manual mode and help it. any ideas? i took it to the dealer today actually for a service, mentioned the problem and they said it was from the intake. (im @ UTI/NTI) i know that there isnt any real possible way that the intake has anything to do with the tranny. (i dont think) anyways, im working on getting it taken care of (being im in school and all) and the warranty will be honored one way or another. (i bought the car and warranty with the intake.... so they will warranty it as they sold it) the car isnt throwing any codes.

i have been doing some searching and i was reading about an update of some sort. anyways. if anyone has any advise/comments please let me know.

thanks again

-K

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yes, thats what i said. it happens after the car gets hot. im not worried because i was issued the warranty with the intake on the car and it shall be honored one way or another.

just curious as to what the issue might be. i know its not related to the Air intake but dont really know what to tell them. its not throwing any codes. im meeting with the service advisor @ the dealership where i bought the car from on friday so i can see where we go from there

·
Registered
26 Posts
i am having a similar problem as well...here is my post

http://my.is/forums/showthread.php?t=267387