Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well i read about people getting snow tires, and not to drive on your summer tires in the snow. But i want to know from people if you can actually drive on the snow with summer tires?? Im not talknig bout 3" of snow, im talknig bout packed down snow on roads. I want to know waht its gonna be like?

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
are these tire jsut taht bad??? OR are you joking aorund?? I dont see how taht can be? I am a very good driver on the snow, and i can controll any type of slide

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
No joke. Summer tires suck in any snow. The good part is that you have so little traction that you canno get going fast enough to cause a lot of damage.

·
Registered
1,197 Posts
Tyler, if you are an extremely careful driver in snow, you shouldnt have a problem.

last year, i bought my IS300 in December, and it snowed quite a bit...
i had no trouble getting around hence im also a good driver in snow...

i did take my car out for a "drift" session, pulled some ebrake turns (of course in a parking lot)...
i actually had a harder time "drifting" than my friend in his 300zx...

so if u are a good driver in snow, you shouldnt have a problem...

this is only my opinion...so dont get all defensive or offensive about this... :lol:

·
Registered
888 Posts
yea, I almost rear ended someone last year driving around in my summer tires. I manage to survie last winter on summer tires, but will I survie this one? The bright side about the summer tires in the snow is, you can do some cool donuts in a empty parking lot :lol:

·
Registered
5,744 Posts