Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I am new to the IS300 world, but have been semi-researching them for a while now. Seems that they are well-loved and not maintenance whores like BMWs which is why i went with one instead of an E36 M3. I just picked up my '02 Black on Black IS300 last week and love it! Just notice two things though. When I turn the steering wheel past a certain point I hear a noise which is kinda hard to explain. It is in the middle of a steer not maybe a half turn or so past the straight position and not close to the full turn position. Maybe like a slight ratchet or click at the one point. Only does it in one spot though and not for long. Any ideas? Also with the fan on low or off and no music playing with the windows up, at a dead stop, when I first begin to accelerate I hear what sounds like liquid swooshing around maybe traveling in a tube somewhere behind the glove box? Heater/ac? Tried a search for these but didnt come up with anything. Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
12,268 Posts
Here's the reason you're hearing water sound behind the dash:

Credit given to Seven for the writeup:

You'll need 2 jack stands, a jack, and a bottle of Toyota super long life, pre-mixed coolant to get this done (you can get coolant from Toyota cheaper than Lexus. Its the same exact stuff).

When the car is cold (you havent driven the car in 2+ hours), do the following;

Step 1: Jack the car up by the front crossbrace behind the oil pan, till the car is up high enough so that the radiator fill point is the highest thing up.

Step 2: Remove the radiator cap, and top off the radiator (they sell radiator fill funnels at autozone that have a stopper plug in them. They're nice to have). If you have the funnel attachment, remove the plug and fill it so that its 1/4 full.