Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys... I have an '01 IS turbo running less than 7lbs that I've been running a Greddy E-Manage on for the past 8 months. Everything is fine until the stock ECU starts fighting for control over the car and strange things like misfirings start to happen. (Needless to say, my spark plugs and MPG have been crappy.) Anyway, I need to get this fixed, but I have been told different things. One option is to simply upgrade a little and get the E-Manage Ultimate and get the car tuned to solve the problem. The other option is that I would have to get a complete stand-alone like AEM or Haltech E6x to solve the issue and then get it tuned. Obviously, there is a huge price difference between AEM and the E-Manage... but can I REALLY expect to get the problem fixed with the Ultimate..?

As you can see, I have a tough decision to make. I really do not have the money for the AEM, or I would just go that route. But I am concerned that the Ultimate may not be powerful enough to fix my timing and A/F complications. Please, if anyone has any advice on this - I would REALLY appreciate it!!!

·
Registered
886 Posts
Have you looked into the AEM FI/C? There's a thread about it in this subsection..

Might want to ask if anyone has any relearning issues..

The ability to run properly with a standalone is completely dependent on your tuner.. In my area, I can't just pick a standalone and find a tuner.. I have to find a tuner and see what he feels comfortable with. ;)

·
Registered
296 Posts
imo just save up and get a standalone that your local tuner is good with and quit throwing money at piggybacks that won't fix your problem (well you could get it to work but it takes a lot more time and from a good tuner such as PFS,SRT) Hopefully that helps you.

·
Registered
703 Posts