Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i just dropped my car on tein s-techs. i love the drop and ride is great. thing is i have visable camber on the rear. the front looks fine. what i'm wondering is i know there will be uneven tire wear but is there any other bad things that can happen? i do like the look of the camber problem just want to make sure if i keep it that way that the only problem i'll have is the tire wear. i just dont' want my car to fall apart or anything along those lines.

thanks....sorry i'm a newb

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
Camber isn't THAT big of a problem... just make sure you don't have lots tow Toe... that is the main problem with tire wear... i'm lowered on 2.5" and my stock OEM RE040 lasted me 45000km before i needed to replace but that was due to a nail in one of the tires... which i decided to change all 4...

·
Premium Member
2,767 Posts
id take your car to get an alignment, ust incase anything else is off like toe in and out, or caster.

·
Premium Member
4,704 Posts
86b said:
Camber isn't THAT big of a problem... just make sure you don't have lots tow Toe... that is the main problem with tire wear... i'm lowered on 2.5" and my stock OEM RE040 lasted me 45000km before i needed to replace but that was due to a nail in one of the tires... which i decided to change all 4...
Are you sure about that??? I believe the camber IS the main problem. Toe helps reduce the amount of uneven tire wear. I am not saying I am 100% sure but the logic is sound with me. I also know that on a track (where tire wear is the least of your concern lol) you are better w/o any toe in on the rear and some toe out on the front. While this setup is great for auto-x etc, it is murder on your tires.

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
i want to drop my car with some S-Techs also.....let me know how everything goes for ya bro and if you really like it.

·
Premium Member
2,597 Posts