Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright,I am a newbie and I have a civic HB with b18c1 swap and pretty much everything else. I feel like I'm 16 driving this car and too much attention from cops and "ricers". I try to keep it clean and simple. nuthin gay. Before you get mad at me for being on here with a civic, please understand that it's fast fo what it is, (13.5 1/4 mile time, 160mph top end) but I realize what it is now, a civic. :(

Anyway.... I've wanted an Is for soo long. My uncle has an Altezza(I'm Japanese). Well im finally financially ready to get one. Looking to spend under 21k for an '01 or '02. I came across a guy who is sellin his blue '02 5-speed IS300 for $9k. 75,000 miles,18 inch rims,dvd player, system,altezza badging, intake, coil overs, turbo (i dont think anything big, dont have details yet). the problem is, he is the second owner of the car with the turbo on it. I havent found out how old the turbo kit is, but I am very worried. the mileage isnt that bad for the year, plus it's a toyota/lexus. but I have heard ,many bad stories about turbo'd IS's on this site. Is it worth savin $10k on the priceof the car and plannin on spending around $5k in the near future to replace things that will probably go wrong? I know I need to find out more details about the kit ( I don't know if he has turbo timer, engine management sytem, etc, etc, I dont know much about turbo's) Is it worth the risk?? please help, I need advice. thank you very ,much.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I cant believe I forgot to mention, smashed rear bumper, no frame damage or anything else, and no exhaust ( he ruined his HKS exhaust from dragging on the ground all the time) So I estimated, 500 for a new exhaust, and 600 for replacement bumper, painted, fitted. This is why he's selling it for so cheap. He has three other cars to worry about also, rich kid.

·
Registered
473 Posts