Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
So I am new to the IS world and was hoping to get some info from some of you experts. I currently drive an E39 5 series, and being back in school full time, I can't keep up with the maintenance on it, and was hoping to find a solid sporty rwd car, so I am looking at an IS. I am going to be shopping for an 02-04 manual trans, and was wondering about model year specs and if there is anything I should look for.
First and foremost, I want the LSD. Was this offered on all model years? And if so, is it part of a package, or is it a single option?
Secondly, I need to have leather. I know some models are leather/alcantara, and some full leather, and I believe I have even seen a cloth model. Does this depend on year?
Is a sunroof option part of a package?
Any differences in model year 02-04? I am pretty certain there were some updates in 04, but unsure of what they were. I also want to know when they switched over to the 9 spoke or 11 spoke (whichever they are) wheels? I personally much prefer the original 5 spoke wheels.
Any common issues I should be looking for?
And is there a list somewhere of interior and exterior color options per year?
I think that is all. For now. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
No LSD in 01 or manual tranny. The 2jz-ge engine that is in all IS300's is an awesome and reliable engine. o1' only had the leather/escaine (suede stuff), might have had the sh*tty cloth too but who knows and who cares about the cloth

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
They have the 5 spoke all years. The multi spoke ones where sportdesign which is a special edition. There are small cosmetic changes every 2 years or so

·
Registered
236 Posts