Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I've recently obtained a 2002 IS300 and plan on turning it into a track car/ project car for myself and my son in the future. This is my first time doing a build and I have only basic knowledge of building cars. I've done my research, read on the forum, and asked around about some questions I've had about the car. However, there are some I do need some help with. If anyone is able to give some insight, constructive criticism, etc. I'm here to listen. Here is a list of some questions:

What size rims (more so offset) would be optimal with stock fenders?
Is there any DCTs that would fit to the 2jz-ge?
Would it be better to just do a full engine swap with the 2jz-gte instead of changing the internals of the GE?
Should I use a plug-in ecu (if that's what it's called) or get a full standalone?
Do I need a new rear differential?
Best performance exhaust systems?
What structural reinforcements would I possibly have to do?
Any performance body mods I should make or body kits I should look into?
Any common problems that would lesson my ability to push this car hard on a track?

I already plan on doing a brake swap with the LS400 brakes as well as running wider tires for better grip. I also plan on getting better race-suited coilovers with adjustable camber, ride-height, dampening, and preload. I've been looking into getting a roll cage installed as well. Thank you for your time and I look forward to having conversation with you all!

·
Registered
2001 Lexus is300 2jzge vvt-i
7 Posts