Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you guys could, can you guys tell me if this is going to work? I'm planning on buying a set of Stern ST-1. And I'D REALLY APPRECIATE IT if you guys can help tell me if this is going to be a decent setup, without much work on the fenders. Any, spacers? Also, what tires size I should use. Thanks guys!!!

*18x8.5 35offset
*18X9.5 35offset

(they're used)

Here's a picture of the rims from google:

THANKS AGAIN!! AND ANY OPINIONS ARE APPRECIATED!! :)

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
^^I have done some research, but this is my first staggered set up. i've bought wheels for FWD vehicles before, but im new to this, so forgive me.

So I decided to make a sort of "guideline" for wheel fitment with offset.

This is a guideline. If you decide to stretch or squeeze tires onto a rim, you'll change clearance.

This is a guideline based on calculations from my 8.5 rear with a 42 offset.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
What I based it on: If a wheel is 1 inch wider, you will be .5 closer to the fender. It will need to be corrected by "offset" which is 25.4mm per inch. So if your wheel is 1 inch wider, half an inch needs to be corrected for with 12.7mm offset.

The setups listed below assume a normal sized tire and is the furthest you should push the wheel out.

Front wheels (With a conservative drop)
(7)..... +32
(7.5)..... +39
(8)..... +45
(8.5)..... +51

Rear Wheels ( With a partially shaved fender)
(7.5)..... +30
(8)..... +37
(8.5)..... +42
(9)..... +48
(9.5)..... +53
(10)..... +61
Please let me know if im wrong. Since the fronts are +35 that means i need 16mm spacer? and the rears are +35 i need, 18mm spacers?

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
^Why would you need spacers? The fitment on these wheels are aggressive already. Putting those size spacers on will require more fender work. You will have to do a little fender modding as is with the +35 offsets.

·
Registered