Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After putting on side skirts at night, I turned on the car/lights only to see that my passenger HID is not working. After flickering the switch a few times, it will work but the times it doesn't, the ballast will make a buzzing sound for a short second. Also, when I start the engine, the passenger light that was previously on will shut off. It seems like I would haft to be lucky (after 4-5 tries) in order to have both the HID headlight on when igniting the engine. Now I am still learning on cars and a bit newbie with this stuff. Tomorrow I will switch the HIDs out and see if it is the Bulb, ballast, or relay.

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
After putting on side skirts at night, I turned on the car/lights only to see that my passenger HID is not working. After flickering the switch a few times, it will work but the times it doesn't, the ballast will make a buzzing sound for a short second. Also, when I start the engine, the passenger light that was previously on will shut off. It seems like I would haft to be lucky (after 4-5 tries) in order to have both the HID headlight on when igniting the engine. Now I am still learning on cars and a bit newbie with this stuff. Tomorrow I will switch the HIDs out and see if it is the Bulb, ballast, or relay.
Ballast is going out. Will need to replace it soon.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
interesting, is that the reason that it is having trouble igniting the HID bulb when starting the engine?

·
Mr. Roo
9,359 Posts
If the ballast is buzzing for a second and nothing lights, then the ballast is working properly, and the bulb is dead. If there was no buzzing, then the ballast would be dead. However, it's not always that straightfoward, so the only real way to check it is to do what you say and switch stuff around and figure it out. Is it possible that your batter ran low while working on the car? Happens to me all the time lol.

·