Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
My calipers are rusting a bit and my next project is to spray paint all the calipers. Im no car experts but is it something an ordinary guy can do? I know how to remove the wheel/rim and everthing but should i be caution when using the calipers paint.
Also, if you guys have ur calipers painted, please post some pics. Also i've seen some really nice ones with the "Lexus" on the side.
Please give me some directions if you could.
Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
4,895 Posts
Here are some pics of mine:

It's definitely something you can do yourself. Just make sure you spend the extra money for a good kit. The G2 kit is really good. You can find it for like $40-$45... I even saw a guy in the For Sale forum with that kit in red and the Lexus decals together for like $50.
http://my.is/forums/f99/g2-gloss-red-caliper-paint-flatline-lexus-brake-decals-white-50-00-a-333162/#post4923803

That kit comes with everything you need to clean the brakes and apply the paint. Why is that kit so good? There is a chemical additive that you mix in with the paint that causes it to harden into a ridiculously strong shell. This is important because you don't want that stuff to peel off and chip like some of the cheaper kits I've tried in the past (ie Duplicolor). You can pretty much even bang that stuff with a wrench and it will stay on.

A couple of tips I'd give to you:
1) Pick up a smaller super fine paint brush before you start. The kit comes with one but it's kinda bulky and doesn't fit into the smaller areas very well. It would be easiest to paint the calipers if you took them off the car, but I'm way too lazy for that and you can get the same look without the extra trouble.
2) Paint your hubs too. It looks way better that way IMO. You don't want to have nice shiny painted calipers and rusty looking hubs peeking through your wheels.