Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
you know i hate changing the god dam oil haha.. well just the filter part.. what do you guys do or find the easiest to take off that dam filter?

·
Registered
7,622 Posts
remove the tranny dipstick, push on the engine a bit and try to squeeze that stupid D1 filter out.

·
Registered
248 Posts
I bought an oil filter relocation kit from JC Whitney that will cure this problem. Can't wait to install it the next time I change my oil.

·
Registered
201 Posts
I'm a newbie, but Ive already changed the oil in mine once. It's not near as hard as some of the people say. It's a bitch and you might get dirty but it's not that bad. I pulled the drain plug, then nudged the motor to the passenger side, slipped the old filter out the top. Takes a few seconds to figure it out but its simple, and alot cheaper than having Toyota dealership do it. I did the same to get the new filter in. Im NOT looking forward to changing plugs though.

·
Registered
200 Posts
I'm a newbie, but Ive already changed the oil in mine once. It's not near as hard as some of the people say. It's a bitch and you might get dirty but it's not that bad. I pulled the drain plug, then nudged the motor to the passenger side, slipped the old filter out the top. Takes a few seconds to figure it out but its simple, and alot cheaper than having Toyota dealership do it. I did the same to get the new filter in. Im NOT looking forward to changing plugs though.
Plugs aren't as bad as it seems. There's even a step by step on the forum with pictures somewhere as well. But, back to the Oil filter, it is a PITA to change it. I'm going to order the relocation kit before I change my oil next as well.

·
Registered
960 Posts
I pull the engine every time I do the oil change...a lot easier than cramming my hand down the side near the intake manifold.......:p