Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new member on here and I've been searching for a little while to find a first gen IS300 here in Utah preferable in the Layton area or close. Does anyone on here have one for sale?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome along. Best to just check all the usual places cars are sold online. Facebook marketplace, craigslist, cars.com, autotrader, etc. Since the cars aren't exactly common, you might have to wait for one to show up near you. Or just be willing to travel
That's kinda what i was thinking i was just hoping someone might just have one available. I'm actually trying to look at a 02 Sportcross this weekend. I'm new to these vehicles but not toyota. Any thing i should look out for on one with 200K+ miles?

·
Registered
2002 Lexus IS300
242 Posts
Make sure the car has had the timing belt and water pump service. They are due every 100k roughly. Also look for excessive oil leaks. Valve cover gaskets, cam seals and crank seals leak. Make sure the transmission shifts smoothly. Also take the car for a good test drive. When back, shut the engine off, pop the oil fill cap and look to see that there isn’t any milky looking oil. Other than that it should be ok.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Make sure the car has had the timing belt and water pump service. They are due every 100k roughly. Also look for excessive oil leaks. Valve cover gaskets, cam seals and crank seals leak. Make sure the transmission shifts smoothly. Also take the car for a good test drive. When back, shut the engine off, pop the oil fill cap and look to see that there isn’t any milky looking oil. Other than that it should be ok.
That's some great advice thank you!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I'm pretty familiar with 3s-gte motors and I know head gaskets are a huge issue with the gen 2 motors. Do the 2jz-ge motors have head gasket issues at all?

·
Registered