Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Alright guys, here's the scoop. I just bought my car (2002 IS300) at a dealership about 2 weeks ago, so yes I'm a newbie. I discovered my rear speakers don't sound right (no bass). Like a good newbie I researched the issue extensively on the board. I need a little more help though.

I've seen the posts about the factory amps burning out or blowing fuses. I was ready to buy a used amp off the board, but figured WTF let the dealer fix it. So I took it in the other day, and 2.5 hours later they tell me thats just the way it is and its 100 percent normal. When I was shopping around I recalled another car's stereo sounding more impressive. Plus I know Lexus didn't put 2 large speaker back there for just high end frequencies.

Can someone confirm for me that '02 cars do normally have bass frequencies coming from the rear deck speakers. (I know it's not a subwoofer). And is the fuse for the amp on the amp itself, or in a fuse panel box? And the amp is located by the passenger side kick panel correct?

I'm frustrated with the dealer, and just want to enjoy my new toy! :) Thanks for the additional help on an all to common post.

·
Premium Member
11,398 Posts
Yes, tell the dealer that you're rear speakers are a double stack. The tweeters sit on top of the woofers. If there is any confusion just remind the guy that "woofers" are speakers that reproduce low notes, also known as bass...Then kick him in the brain for being an idiot and tell him to fix your shit!

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
cool, amp it is. I knew it too, just needed more ammo for kicking dealer ass! Knowledge is power.

Thanks again for the help.

·
Registered
13,905 Posts