Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Mr. Roo
9,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my car started making a loose clicking sound out of the back passenger wheel.

Took off the wheel, everything's fine. Removed the caliper, and then the rotor, and this piece fell out:

I thought it might be a piece of the e-brake, but it's still all intact and functioning. I checked the other wheel, and it looks identical on both sides.

I figure this is just a piece of scrap that somehow got up into the e-brake cavity behind the rotor. Any clue what it could be?

Attachments

·
Registered
117 Posts
the fact it fell off when you took off the rotors might mean it's part of the brake shoe. It kinda looks like a shoe strut. Just based on the fact it has rivets which look like they might hold springs on the other side.

·
Registered
577 Posts
I have a functioning ebrake on my car but the spring mechanism is broken off on the drivers side. I've been driving with it like that for like 6 months and even drifted with the thing busted lol. I broke it one day when I was trying to take off the rotor.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Doesnt look like any of the parts in the standard components, what are the chances it was picked up off the road while driving? (or a buddy trying to freak you out? :) )

·
Registered
575 Posts
Just a thought, could it be something like a bracket off the shocks for holding the brake hose in place?

I'm just taking a wild guess based off someone else comment, but looks a little like a mangled version.

·
Mr. Roo
9,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Alright, so after I made this thread, someone posted the same exact thing on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/179809172041079/permalink/1509695109052472

"As far as I know they always fall off and can't be reattached, but serve no real purpose. Bin it mate"

"Goes in the bin."

"Bin^^^"