Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Wasssaa

I am happy to say I am new to the go faster forum!:cool:

I have a TE S1 kit on the way and I am piecing together the monitoring system. I was wondering which route you guys would recommend especially since this kit is milder than what most of what you crazy asses are running.

Anyway, I was thinking two routes:
1. Mechanical FP gauge and putting it in line somewhere visible by the rail. Mechcanical Oil Pressure gauge and leaving it somewhere under the hood as well (These are both really just for initial startup--so I can feel safe). Then I was going to get an AFR (of course!) and a Boost pressure gauge. I came accross a triple pod for the center of the dash and was thinkin about the third gauge. What would you guys slap in there? Would you just get an electronic Fuel Pressure gauge and bring it in the cabin? Or oil temp? Or not necessary, waste of money and just stick with 2 gauges in cabin (psi boost and AFR)??

2. Zeitronix ZT2 with the boost sensor, afr sensor, and MAYBE egt. I know the S1 kit is pretty mild...do you think this is overkill? I kinda like the datalogging aspect and everything, but I might only need it once or twice lol or none at all. I like the compactness of the monitoring system since I won't have a pod or anything...but it seems like it would be harder to watch than a gauge with lights and needles ya know?

Are there any other multi-tasking monitors like the zt-2?

Also there is quite a cost difference from these two approaches. Any insight is appreciated!

Thanks

·
Registered
5,654 Posts
Put the fuel gauge on the fuel rail. It will provide an easy place to check should a random problem occur.

Get a boost controller that either has A) peak and hold ability B) electronic with peak function.

Save the rest of your $ for something like good tires.

That is all you need...in my opinion :cool:

Reactions: Neegra

·
Registered
6,606 Posts