Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2003 IS300
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well, what started as just a simple shock and spring install has turned into a complete rear suspension rebuild. I had so many seized bolts that i needed to drop the rear subframe to deal with them and i decided to just replace everything while its out. I am an engineer for a sheet metal fab shop so i have the ability and equipment to make my own items and chose to go this route.
Designing the items wasn't bad but trying to find some of the parts i wanted to use was difficult. Everything was a purchased part other than the sheet metal items. The most difficult items to find was the tapered studs used in the upper arm and toe. I reached out to xcessive engineering for these and they were cool enough to sell me some. I tried Figs but they were not willing to do this.

I used Teflon lined heim joints for all applications.

I have no clue how well all this is going to work but it has been a fun project and i can always make revisions to it.

Here is a pic of the rear lower arms.
Wood Automotive tire Bumper Automotive exterior Motor vehicle

Watch Table Computer keyboard Hood Wood

Rear traction arm
Wood Tool Computer keyboard Peripheral Musical instrument

Rear toe
Musical instrument String instrument String instrument Product Plucked string instruments

Sway bar end link
Table Wood Rectangle Computer keyboard Desk

I fucked up on the rear upper arms and need to re-cut and bend them. here is my model for them. i should be able to finish these next week.
Footwear Jeans Trousers Sleeve Sneakers

Once i get the upper arms done i am planning on powder coating everything. (We do powder coating in our shop)
I have the rear subframe completely stripped of all parts and i'm down to the last two last bushings to get out (they have been a bitch). I will be sending this out for blasting and i will powder coat it once i get it back.