Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 163 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had this installed, and what did it cost you? The unit is around $250 but I have been quoted from $600 to $725 installed at the dealers around Dallas. If I have it installed somewhere else does that affect my warranty?

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
Are you talking about the VAIS unit???

It's plug and play... you can do the install yourself. Also I doubt it would do anything to warranty because it doesn't mess up the factory harness. So if anything you could just remove it before doing warranty work on the stereo.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually, there is now an official Lexus iPod integration kit (see Sewell Lexus Parts website, part no. PT545-00082). I have read about the VAIS unit. How does it compare tot he Lexus unit? I am not technically inclined so I would have to get it whatever unit I go with professionally installed. Any ideas on what installation would run me?

·
Registered
32 Posts
if your car has factory nav(not ML), then try getting SL2Vi from Vais...

SL2Vi is for iPod integration for mp3 and DVD simulation feature

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hey TSoprano, that's an awesome document, I just e-mailed my service rep about having that done to my car ASAP (I've only had it for 9-10 days). I'll take pics once it's done and post 'em.

·
Registered
20,661 Posts
Hey TSoprano, that's an awesome document, I just e-mailed my service rep about having that done to my car ASAP (I've only had it for 9-10 days). I'll take pics once it's done and post 'em.
NICE....my parts guy told me we've had them but have not been advertising them till this month now, and they are priced quite moderately too..:p

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
That is a great document! My dealer wanted $595 for the kit and installation. Now I have some leverage to negotiate it down to $300.

·
Registered
20,661 Posts