Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Decisions, decisions. Both upgrades would cost about the same, give or take a few dollars.

L-tuned muffler would give a few extra HPs without a loud increase in noise. 225 tires would fill the wheel well better and give the car a little better handling when cornering. Of course the car is only two months old, so I could wait until the tires wear out.

What would you do if you could only get one during tax refund time?

And if I did go with a new muffler, where can you get them installed? Are they difficult to install yourself, as I am no mechanic (although I did do the easy install of the PLP SFI by myself)?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
i vote for the l-tuned exhaust. you'll have to replace your tires eventually, so why spend your money (electively) on that, when you could get something else?

as for your question, i think any muffler shop can install it for you. ppl have told me that paying anything more than $20ish is a rip off...

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
I got the lTuned exhaust after about 7k miles and I love it.
I'm still on my stock tires (Dunlop SP90000) and I'm at 37k miles with a lot of thread left... so those tires can last you quite a while. But then again, if you wanted wider tires, you could sell your old ones and not lose too much money on the new set.

I went a different route and got l-tuned sways instead of wider tires. Very big handling difference... very good bang for the buck. Got them for ~$220 in a group buy a while back.

I plan on going for the 225 tire whenever I do need to change though.

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
get the sways.....buy tires in another year....you won't get much for used tires....even if they only have like a thousand miles on them....

get the sways for handling and the exhaust........

if you did your intake, you can do the exhaust