Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK,

I plan to mod my IS for performance when I get it. I don't, however, like the loud exhaust notes that come from a lot of modded "kids" cars that I hear. Please don't take that the wrong way. If the loud noise is your thing, then more power too ya! I can respect that, however, it's just not my thing. PS, I say kids cars because that's who I see driving the really loud ones where I live.

Anyway, if anyone has any experience with performance exhaust, could you let me know roughly if it's gonna destroy the quietness of the IS. I have no experience in this department, so I'm not sure if the 'loud' thing is just for show, or do all performance exhausts sound like that?

Thanks,
J

ps> I don't mind a low-pitched rumble kinda sound, I just don't like the weed-whacker sound.

[This message has been edited by Almost There (edited November 03, 2000).]

·
8,107 Posts
I wouldn't worry about it, factory tuned exhausts are never very loud, especially a Lexus one - it's likely to be not much louder than stock, which is really quiet.

·
Registered
192 Posts
wutever u do...don't modify the exhaust...
the is300 exhaust is truly optimized for the engine performance...

sometimes modifying the exhaust from stock can actually reduce ur horsepower due to air/fuel compression lost...

NRD
Toyota Fremont Cali

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I would imagine that if L-tuned/TRD sold a performance exhaust, it would be "tuned" specifically for the IS to INCREASE performance. I'm not talking about an aftermarket exhaust.

Additionally, I thought I read that the engine puts out 215 (as opposed to the GS300's 225) due to "a more restrictive exhaust system". I could be wrong though

·
Registered
12,157 Posts