Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys and Gals and IS 300 Enthusiasts,

I love the IS 300. I've been hoping to buy one for the last six months. Being just a recent college grad though, I've had to set my sights a little lower. I'm seriously considering purchasing a CPO 2001 Lexus IS 300 in the Cinnabar color (rather unique and cool).

It has 37,700 miles. Is an automatic with E-Shift; leather trim with escaine interior, moonroof and so on. Does not have a rear spoiler. It's in great condition though. The car is featured in my nearest Lexus dealer's showroom right as you walk in - either they really want to get rid of it or it is somewhat of a pride to show what good condition the car is in. I've checked out the exterior - just one small paint chip on the front-right pillar. The grille looks perfect; it has brand new tires and what look to be brand new 17" 5 Spoke rims (glossed graphite model). The interior seems fine as well - just a couple of stretch marks on the driver seat's leather trim.

I have talked the dealer down to $23,900 (and perhaps even less). Of course this includes the 3 Year/100,000 Total Mileage Warranty that comes with every CPO Lexus.

When thinking about it - I might be able to get a new Mazda 6s or Mini Cooper S, or maybe even a TSX - but I really enjoy the Lexus quality and how they take care of their customers. My dad bought an ES 300 from the same dealership a few years ago and they almost immediately recognized him and offered us a lower price on the 2001 IS 300.

What do you guys think?

Worth it?

Not worth it?

Thanks so much - look forward to everyone's responses.

·
8,849 Posts
I think it is a bit overpriced.
22K should be the right price.
Keep in mind, the brand new 2003 models sold around 30K.

BTW, what color is it??? :-? Cinnabar??? :-?
Did you mean Auburn Sky?

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·