Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some advice. I am looking for a daily driver and I'm pretty much down to the 335i and IS350. I own a Lotus Elise for track days. I'm an instructor with the BMWCCA club and I also race a Reynard F2000.

I want to know if you guys feel the IS350 is sporty enough for a guy like me that likes to push the limit from time to time? I won't bring the car to the track as my Elise is the dedicated track machine. I am sure there are a lot of enthusiast here and would like to hear from you.

On paper the IS looks good. But I've yet to try it and even then, I highly doubt the salesman is gonna let me rip the hell out of the car so I can see how it goes.

I like the IS:
-power
-price
-look
-luxuries

My fears with the IS are:
-too soft
-no standard gearbox.
-too much understeer

What do you guys think? Will I get bored with the car or can the IS surprise me day after day of ownership?

·
Registered
636 Posts
I own a Lotus Elise for track days. I'm an instructor with the BMWCCA club and I also race a Reynard F2000.
I don't think it's possible for you to NOT be bored by the IS350 with cars like that to drive on a regular basis!! ;)

-Mike

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
I don't think it's possible for you to NOT be bored by the IS350 with cars like that to drive on a regular basis!! ;)

-Mike
Perhaps, however you are unlikely to get much fun with any car on public roads without being arrested, as your personal limits are much higher than the average driver!

An IS with better tires (GoodYear F1 GS-D3 or Michelin PS2) should make a fun, reliable daily driver.

A BMW would be a little more fun, at the expense of cost, luxury and reliability. And you can always get your dose of fun at the track.

Either way, tell the salesperson you want to "explore handling" on a quiet road. If they refuse, try another salesperson. This goes for both cars.

·
Registered
787 Posts