Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

This is my first time posting in this forum, but I know that this comparison is done many times before, but I've brought some new info to the table.

We're in the market for a performance 4-door vehicle that is in the 32k range, but we want some passenger amenities. Looking at one of the recent Car and Drivers, BMW is the best performance machine, but we're not looking for a vinyl, 'cruiseless' car.

I know the automatic issue is a big thing. But in September the IS300 will have a 5-speed stick. But we need a car in April. The loaded IS300s in Texas are going for 2-2.5k off the MSRP (35k), because of overstocking. 325i's are great at 34k, but we can't seem to get luxury, and sport package for under that mark. The new 5-speed stick Lexi, won't go for 2-2.5k under MSRP here in Austin - Houston, unless we are seriously haggling.

What to do? Get a stripped Bimmer and enjoy the 'driving experience', or stick with the loaded IS300 for a better value, but lose that Munich handling? Or am I giving too much credit to 325? I quote Car and Driver: the 'stick stirs cream, and the clutch hags like velvet." Can Lexus claim this in April or September? Is their another car to solve this?

One more note, we have been in the Lexus family for nine years, should this play into account?

I dunno, I'm frustrated, please help!

·
Registered
3,336 Posts
Alot of people seem to be switching to the Lexus from BMW because of repair cost. Lexus does offer a great warranty but it is up to you. I am planing to purchase an IS300 next weekend and I am only paying 31.8 for fully loaded with LSD out of Dallas. You should check around, both San Antonio and Dallas were willing to give me a better deal than Austin. I think the IS is more rare than the 325, and I like the body style over the BMW.
You should go with what you prefer, but the IS are NICE!