Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
According to Motor Trend it has a cast-iron block and aluminum head. They apparently could have saved some weight if they made the engine entirely from aluminum (as with BMW).

Apart from weight, does anyone know what are the advantages or disadvantages of a cast-iron block compared to an aluminum block? Is an aluminum engine more accommodating to mods than a cast-iron one?

·
Registered
4,523 Posts
Hey...is that my pic?!

The 2JZ-G(T)E is an older engine design (vintage from around '93, the precursor 1JZ-GTE came around '90) with an iron block. I think the main reason for this is because the JZ engine was meant to be turbocharged. An iron block, I suppose, is better-suited to withstand the stresses of turbocharging compared to an aluminum block.

·
8,107 Posts
I'm no engine expert, but materials made of aluminum must be thicker to get the same strength as iron, cause iron is stronger - but Al is considerably lighter, so even though you need more of it, the net weight loss is significant. M3 engines are iron block, not sure about regular 3 series.
Impreza WRX engine is aluminum block, and turbo-charged of course.

[This message has been edited by ckolsen (edited January 21, 2001).]

·
Registered
12,157 Posts
a cast iron block is much stronger and better suited to the heat and extra stress produced from forced induction.

that is why all the honda racers sleeve their blocks with cast iron ductile sleeves, and use products like block guard to strengthen it, because aluminum will flex/expand too much, where as cast iron is much much more durable.

that is one of the reasons why supras can go 8's with a stock bottom end. the IS will always have an iron block, if they continue to use the 2jzge motor.

Originally posted by MrEee:

According to Motor Trend it has a cast-iron block and aluminum head. They apparently could have saved some weight if they made the engine entirely from aluminum (as with BMW).