Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm a noob here so wanted to say hello.

I dont own an Is300 but am looking to purchase one in the near future.

For now, i have question concerning the side bolsters on the factory seats.
Looking for more comfort, i installed a set of is300 seats into my '94 toyota landcruiser. Going cross-country this last week i had horrible pain in my thighs after about 1 hour in these seat. I'm a small 21 yr old and felt like i could hardly fit between the bolsters. It seem that anyone larger then me would be unable to sit in them at all.

As there anything i can do? or am i the only one who seems to have an issue with this.

Thanks, in advance.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Searched around a little bit.
It seem the general concern is with the lack of lumber. I found the seat back to be comfortable for me and had no real complaints. It's just the seat bottom side bolsters that kill my legs.

Thanks again.

·
Registered
569 Posts
You sure they were IS300 seats? I'm 6" and a big guy and feel plenty comfortable in my seats... a few 300+ miles trips in them with none to minor cramping.

·
Registered
3,194 Posts
I like the fit of the stock seats. I'm 5'11" and fit just fine. My friend is 6'4" and he has an IS, and fits just fine as well (although nobody could possibly sit behind him. . It could be the ground clearance issue you have with putting these seats in another vehicle which is causing the pain. I put the bottom up at an angle so my knees are bent a little more.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
There are most certainly IS300 seats. They are the "suede" versions.

I'm blown away in all my searching that no one else complains about the side bolster digging into their thighs.

There's got to be something going on with my seats, i'm confident that no normal person could last more then an hour in them without noticing how uncomfortable they are.

·