Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I haven't really been around these parts but I'm planning on getting a new car soon. My old car which is a 2002 Jetta died after about 5 years of my daily driving to school and back. I need a vehicle that will last me another 3 or more years with only basic maintainence I.E. give it an oil change, keep brakes, and other stuff up to spec and go. I'm a poor college student so $$ isn't readily available to sink into something that needs constant or expensive maintainence. Would this car be a good choice for someone like me?

·
Registered
253 Posts
These cars are generally reliable. You'll see a lot of them for sale with 200-250k miles and they'll say "runs great, AC blows cold".

They're also generally pretty straightforward to work on, but they are highly complex, with lots and lots of different systems. For example, the headlamps can aim themselves based on how heavily the car is loaded. There is an electronic control unit inside the the dashboard that is responsible for climate control. This system communicates over a network, to tell the ECU when to run the A/C compressor. Same control unit requests the blend door to open, the fan to run etc etc.

There's lots of these types of things scattered throughout the car. If they fail, it's hard to diagnose, and OEM parts from Toyota are egregiously expensive. Still lots of them on ebay though... For now.

So, mechanically the cars are really solid and electronically they are quite reliable considering how complex they are, but there is just no such thing as "rock solid" reliability when it comes to electronics.

You pay your money and you take your chances. You could do a lot worse than one of these IS300s...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Compared to your Jetta, Yes.