Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey peeps,
I am new to the IS community and am looking for some avise. I just purchased a IS350 and am looking to add some go fast parts to it (exhaust/intake).

What do you guys recommend?
Where can I purchase them?

Thanks for the help peeps.
OOM

·
Registered
106 Posts

·
Registered
5,052 Posts
if you're looking for mods specifically to make the car faster, don't bother.

No intake for the ISx50 adds more than 3-5 horsepower, and many (mostly the short rams) might actually cost power because they're sucking in hot air. The Joe Z pipe is going to be the best bang/buck as it shows 3-5 hp gains on a dyno and cost about 1/3rd what the usual aftermarket intakes do WITHOUT sucking up hot engine air or being obnoxiously loud.

For exhaust, assuming you want to stay legal, nothing will add more than 5-7 hp and it'll run around $550-600 (for a Tanabe, which is a very nice, well built system that's fairly quiet, but still doesn't add much power).

If you don't mind being illegal (ie removing cats and such) then there's some full exhausts that might net you 10-15 hp but cost will be more in the 1000-1500 range.

Now, if you want your car to be much -louder- then you have plenty of good options for intake/exhaust. Making it much faster, not so much.

Now, if you -really- don't mind being illegal, Daniel Mazzuri is making headers for the car.. they delete the primary cats and they replace the rear O2 sensors with sims... but they're the first mod I've seen for the IS350 that should actually show significant power gains (on a 250 he was showing something like 25-30 more torque, the 350 should be even better)...and the cost is in between the legal and not-legal exhausts that all add a lot less power.