Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
hi mrclam.. i got a little question, there is a used 1997 sky blue m3 with 27000 miles on it asking for 50000 canadian. do you think its worth it? and since i am still learning how to drive a manual car, i have heard from my friends that M3 lets you to do both auto and manual transmission. is it true?

·
Registered
257 Posts
completely different era, completely different managment, completely different construction process. Completely different world. Not fuel injected. Low-reving engine. Fewer and simpler mechanical parts. Not bagging on your M3 nor BMW mrclam BUT its unrealistic and to talk about a car from 17 years-ago as being representive of today's quality (they were good cars...my dad had a 1980 320iS...very rare care...i think a progenitor to the current M3 - not sure though). More applicable? Show me a 92 BMW 5 series with 325K and that would be a more true statement of what today's BMW is about. I could show you a couple 90-93 integra's with 300k. IMO, M3's have a better rep for quality than the rest of the 3-series line SO you made the best choice with yer M3.
Just my .02

·
Registered
4,250 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i agree but everyone on this site(well nto everyone buta lot of people) are always bitching aboutreliability like bmw doesn't have any.

·
Registered
685 Posts
Mrclam, BMW has the reliability, but it's not as good as those japanese car makers'. Ain't no doubt about that. Do you think any bimmer can survive longer than civic can? I don't think so, man.

------------------
K.P.

·
8,107 Posts