Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I probably didn't put this in the right section, because i'm new. I was wondering if you all could give me some advice.. I have a 2001 Is300 with 194k miles and it's all stock except for a cold air intake. What should I do to it to make it faster? Add a Turbo & suspension? Swap Engine? Buy a new is300 with less miles and then begin the tuning process? i'm a noob when it comes to tuning and maitenance but I would LOVE to learn more about it! If any of you can help me in any way it would be very much appreciated. :)

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
Unless you have at least $9000 for proper maintenance and a properly built turbo kit, then don't even bother.

If you want more fun (not necessary faster), get a decent exhaust and swap to a manual (which costs several thousand in itself)..

·
Registered
152 Posts
Razo is right, its either spend about $9k or so and make it fast, or leave it alone (or maybe do a little suspension to make it look and handle better).

The problem is bolt on's don't make a noticeable difference, so you'd have to go boost for it to be worth it. And on a stock long block you're only looking at 350-400 whp on a stock longblock, which I can tell you isn't that fast and you'll want more soon afterwords.

So, in my opinion, its either a turbo kit, piston and rod upgrade, transmission upgrade, ecu and fuel system upgrades and make a good amount of power (which means you could easily drop $10k), or just leave it alone and enjoy the reliability of it's stockness.

·
Registered
327 Posts
You can go boost reliably for around 7600 but definitely research just what you're getting into going boost cause maintaining can be expensive.

·
Registered
5,270 Posts
Put a V8 in mine for $4300. That's what the parts donor cost... Made some money back parting it out. Not much. Maybe $1500.