Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm not a newbie so dont tell me to search. i've been looking everywhere for the answer to my question and havent found it yet.

i'm running a PS2, screens, and a mini-fridge in my car. NO aftermarket sound system. i had a system a while back, and sold it. so all the monster cable and everything is still hanging in my trunk, and still wired to the battery. ALL my current electronics run to a 400 watt power inverter in my trunk, which is not plugged into anything. now, i was told that i should just run the inverter straight to the battery, and leave it on all the time, and wire in a master switch up near me, to turn on/off all the electronics whenever i want. i dont really want to do that for two reasons 1) i dont know how 2) it seems like a lot of work for a solution that doesnt seem all that great

now my question is where can i get anoter source of power. i was thinking a spare battery in the trunk, but i was told that has to run to your main battery so the alternator can charge it, which in turn will do me no good because it will still drain the main battery if i leave anything running while the car is off (like the mini-fridge)

the option i have been doing research on are bat caps, but i dont know anything about them. what they do or how they work, i have just heard them mentioned. i looked online at all kinds of farad capacitors, but they all talk about plugging into your amp and making your system sound better, but i dont have a system, so can i not use one of these?? is there a difference in a bat cap and farad cap?

or maybe antother option would be running the fridge (which only draws about 70 watts) to a fuse in the fuse box, and running everything else to the regular battery.

my ultimate goal is to be able to have the mini-fridge on as much as possible to keep the drinks cold.