Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all! my question is that...

Q1-
should i fill up my front license plate holes? if so, what about the price range? i'm scared that the cops will pull me over then i will have to install them on again. then thats a waste of money right?

Q2-
today i was driving... then suddenly this trash truck pulled in front of me from no where without signals then i was kinda pissed cause i was driving around 40 then he was driving like 25. so i step on then passed him quicky... but oh oh i stepped too hard i red line it... it was around 6200 rpm a little over 6. i'm so worried now. will this hurt or damage my engine? this is my first time red line my new IS3. the mileage on my car is 2050. please give me advices.

thank you all!

·
Registered
727 Posts
1. Put your licenses on (if it's required in your area). Sooner or later you will get caught.

2. Redlining momentarily is ok. The rev limiter should protect you from permanent damage.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Agreed... Momentarily redlining is okay at your mileage. Check out previous threads...

I just took off the front License plate Holder and exposed those Ugly Holes as well. I'm not sure how much it cost to fill them up. However I plan to replace my front plates with some other sign.... etc.

------------------
Silver IS300 fully loaded w/LSD

·
Registered
626 Posts
Whenever I punch my car it always goes to red line before shifting.

I would not be to worried about it. It is not like you are driving it like that every second of the day.

This engine is a very well oiled machine. I hardly doubt that will hurt it. Now if it was a BMW or a CL TYPE S, I would be running to the service department!

·
Registered
541 Posts
Haha.

With a BMW, you want to redline it occasionally (after break-in). Keeps things running smoothly.