Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 143 Posts

·
Registered
23,901 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been pulling in decent money for the past several years, but I find that most of my cash is tied up in assets. Mostly my house, cars, furnishings, investments, etc. This is really pissing me off.

So anyway, how liquid are you? I have about 20-25K in cash readilly available. It should be much more.

This is not intended to be a piss fest. I am looking for smarter ways to keep my money in check.

What's the scoop...

·
Registered
28,808 Posts
Pretty much all of my money is tied up in investments. I'd say my portfolio is strong....to very strong.

I don't have a lot of liquid assets.

·
Registered
15,585 Posts
depends on your definition of liquid.

I have stock that I could sell today. But that doesnt fall under my definition of liquid.

10k I guess.

·
Registered
23,901 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
HoustonLex said:

I have stock that I could sell today. But that doesnt fall under my definition of liquid.

10k I guess.
I consider money invested in stocks not to be liquid. I have about 50-60 G's in a money market, but that is not to be touched. My nest egg sort of speak.

I mean cash that you have on hand to use if needed.

·
Registered
19,381 Posts
we have 80k or so in a money market that will sadly be our income starting pretty soon

you really do need to have a few months of cash stowed away - more if you think it would take longer than that to get a new job.

·
Registered
15,585 Posts
LexArkana said:
HoustonLex said:

10k I guess.
I consider money invested in stocks not to be liquid. I have about 50-60 G's in a money market, but that is not to be touched. My nest egg sort of speak.

I mean cash that you have on hand to use if needed.