Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time ever posting, but I need some advice and help. Was replacing the front bushings on a 08 IS250 AWD, driver side went smoothly but on the passenger side the 17mm bolt hole stripped. Tried chasing the threads but didn't work. What are the approaches to re threading? I've looked at helicoils and time serts but feel iffy about either one due to my very limited experience with them. The bolt will need to be torqued to 63 ft-lbs. I've reached out to a couple shops but they seem very hesitant about it and it won't be a few weeks before they can even take a look at it

More info: I think what I did wrong was I tightened the other two bolts before even starting the 17mm bolt and pressure was already being applied which might've allowed the threads to be stripped.

Definitely bummed about it, but I appreciate the help

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
Without looking at the specifics helicoils should be up to the job, the coils will be stronger than the substrate they are screwed into and that torque is pretty low.

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
The other thing a mate of mine did on an older car with a stripped subframe bolt was to tap the next size up thread and use a larger bolt. Just means you have one odd bolt to the others, not good for my OCD :D

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here's the best pictures I could take. The first few rounds of threads are basically gone, which kept the tap from getting started. Could just be a crap tap from O Reilly's though lol.

I did find a shop willing to take a look at it tomorrow so I'll update on how that goes. But also too this'll be great for anyone else in the future who makes the same mistake I did 😕 if they decide they don't want to do it though at least I know I have options
Water Eye Automotive tire Liquid Wood
Wheel Tire Vehicle Car Automotive lighting

Attachments

·
Registered
1,286 Posts