Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys at the risk of sounding stupid..... because I will be the FIRST to admit... Im still learning about cars...... therefore perhaps my references to parts and such might not be the correct terminology.... but i try :confused:

I have noticed over the last few months (perhaps due to the cold winter..) I have noticed a strange kinda like taking off noise when i accelerate..... sometimes its so loud i hear it over the stereo.... but the thing is ... if it due to the cold shouldnt it dicipate as the car warms up?? cuz sometimes its there constant...but sometimes its not there at all....in any case when it is... its sooooo loud!

should I be concerned???

Help :(

·
Registered
291 Posts
um i really couldnt understand what you were describing, but the only thing i can think of is a 'THUD' sound from the rear. that is normal . where do you hear the sound?

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
lol told ya i was bad with this...

urmmm... kinda sounds like its comming from the right front end... its def not in the rear and its not a thud... u know the sound a plan makes when its taking off?!!? well...that is the noise and the more exceleration the louder the noise....

its like that.... except my IS dont have wings so i dunno where the heck it thinks its goin :(

haha

·
Registered
291 Posts
well idk then. sry. i would just have it checked out. The only noises that i know are common is, the swooshing behind the dash, thud from the rear, and the snapping/clicking sound from the brake pads.

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
Does it sound like an electronic sorta winding up sound from behind the dash?

Sometimes I hear something that sounds like electronic noise... almost like an electronic turbine winding up under acceleration. I have no idea what it is... but haven't had any issues either.