Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
new lexus owner. 2002 is300 5-speed.
Recently the car has developed a problem where (sorry im brand new to the lex/toyota world so ill speak in my honda roots terminology) where right around i think 35-4500rpm where the "Vtec" would be kicking in the engine bogs/ hesitsates really bad. If i stay in the rpms the problem seems to eventually clear out or if I let off for a split second then hit the throttle again it will take off like a rocket. The trac control is off when this is happening. Also it has a K&N intake system and hp catback
Also 2 weeks ago it threw a code for cyl. #1 misfire. the mechanic told me this was due to me fueling it with the car on and the cap off. The check engine light hasnt come on since.
Im thinking of starting with cleaning the MAF sensor and checking the plugs to see if they are lean, if so cleaning the injectors(although i have no idea how to do this)
anyone have any ideas or have experienced the same problem???? im not sure where to start. also if anyone has advice or a link on how to clean/remove injectors. thanks alot

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
Might as well start with the simplest things first. Check the condition of your MAF sensor... and clean it. Also... do you have a heat shield on your K&N intake? Are you seeing oil on the spark plugs?

·
Registered
5,155 Posts
I was getting a mid RPM hesitation, it was a dirty MAF sensor.

Grab some electronics cleaner, liquid based, from Radio Shack and some qtips and clean it, careful not to damage the wires that are inside it.

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
You may not need to use Q-Tips. I was able to spray the electronics cleaner on the MAF sensor... and the actual sensors inside came out really clean. Try that first... and then if it's still black... maybe then you can get more aggressive.

·
Registered
1,042 Posts