Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
04 IS300 automatic
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi so this is my first time on any forum discussion so bare with me! I love my IS so much that I’ve spent 4K in the past 9 months(bought it from a friend last year) to maintain it. Currently my first gen has almost 260k mikes on it. The cats rattling was about to drive me insane, it was running sluggish and I didn’t really wanna spend 1,200 on a new manifold so I went with header. Well the gasket was a POS and fell out. The person that did it put my old gasket on.then I had to pay a muffler shop to put a bung and weld last o2 sensor on bc was too close to firewall. Ever since I had this done it seems to run super rich and I hate it now! Drives like the tranny is about to go out. Cruise control doesn’t work right and my trunk feels almost too hot to touch not to mention the smell coming through vents or with windows down give me a headache! I’m torn between getting rid of it or keeping it as a project car. Thing is it’s my daily driver rn and I’m done pouring money into this car especially if the end result is-runs and Sounds like POS. Someone please help me here!!

·
2,970 Posts
If you removed all 3 cats, did you simulate the rear o2 sensors or do you have cel codes? If you have codes, what all codes are you having to start. Also watch your postings. You have asked about the gasket is two places and this is against the rules.

·
Registered
2002 Lexus IS300
419 Posts
solar is correct about using spacers to get rid of cat codes. As far as smells, just get a new exhaust manifold gasket. They are cheap. Unless you have an oil leak, that will smell too.

·
Registered
04 IS300 automatic
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If you removed all 3 cats, did you simulate the rear o2 sensors or do you have cel codes? If you have codes, what all codes are you having to start. Also watch your postings. You have asked about the gasket is two places and this is against the rules.

·