Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I have been reading a lot of the post here, and this is a great forum. I see everyone talking about intake, afc and exhaust but I can not seem to find any info on changing the gear ratio of the car. I just recently purchased the SRT intake w/ecu and am planning on getting the blitz exhaust, however, I do not think that will be enough to take the BMW 330 simply because of gearing. The cars are basically the same when in come to HP, I believe the BMW has 10 more HP Stock. Now I am fairly new to all this but from what read the BMW has the following specs from their website:

Drag coefficient 0.31
Top speed1 mph 128
Acceleration 0-60 mph 6.4

Where the IS300 has:
0 to 60 in 7.3 seconds
Top track speed: 143.7
Aerodynamic drag coefficient: 0.29

Curb weight is Equal: 3285lbs

Now, I don't expect to get the car to its top speed often, expecially, light to light, so I was wondering, has any played with the gearing of their car? My pop said that is what they used to do back in the old day. Any suggestions?

Kai
2002 IS300 e-SHIFT
SRT INTAKE W/ECU
NO Exhaust mod yet

·
Registered
12,157 Posts
as your pop said, the old days.

its pretty much a waste of money to try and swap out gearing. the only thing you could possibly do, is put the auto 3.91 into your manual, 3.73, and thats if you even have a manual - you did not mention it.

you are much better off getting something that adds power, say forced induction, or the toyo headers or whatever, with toyo headers, air filter, and exhaust, you should wax that 330 if you can drive decent.

-gte

Hey all,