Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe I'm just new to the whole v6 thing, but is it normal for me to only be getting 280 on a full tank of gas? I go Premium ofcourse, but seriously is that all we should be getting on the 15 gallon tank?

Maybe I'm just on something, but something seems way wrong with that?

What are yall getting?

·
Registered
590 Posts
You may want to identify what car you have.
In the US, the V6's come as a 2.5 liter in the IS250 and a 3.5 liter in the IS350. With 300+ HP, an aggresively driven IS350 will easily return these kind of poor MPG #'s.
If you should happen to have a US model IS300, then you don't have a V6, it's an I6. That I6 is one of the main reasons many of us chose the IS over it's V6 competitors. It's a very reliable engine, but it's not known for great gas mileage.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You may want to identify what car you have.
In the US, the V6's come as a 2.5 liter in the IS250 and a 3.5 liter in the IS350. With 300+ HP, an aggresively driven IS350 will easily return these kind of poor MPG #'s.
If you should happen to have a US model IS300, then you don't have a V6, it's an I6. That I6 is one of the main reasons many of us chose the IS over it's V6 competitors. It's a very reliable engine, but it's not known for great gas mileage.
So if I have an inline 6, does that mean I do not have a V6? What are some of the advanteges of the Inline 6 if thats what I have?

Blind

·
Registered
5,155 Posts
If it's the IS300 you have and you live where its cold in the winter than ya thats pretty normal.

I get about 100-120km, 60-75miles, less per tank during winter than in the summer.

You're not in a Civic anymore, get used to it :)

·
Registered
590 Posts
So if I have an inline 6, does that mean I do not have a V6? What are some of the advanteges of the Inline 6 if thats what I have?

Blind
Are we speaking figuratively?
What do you mean "if"?