Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently own a 2004 is300 with 102k miles on it. It is completely stock as of now. I am fairly new to modifying cars other than intakes and breaks. I have plans for it in the future including coilovers, rims, tires and so on. But first I am in need of a front suspension refresh. Currently, steering is sloppy, there's lots of creaks and knocks when driving coming from the front suspension. I guess the main question is where should I start, I've seen products from figs engineering that offer a complete suspension refresh with all poly bushings. This is intriguing but I'm not sure if this is overkill. The goal is to replace old parts with upgraded new ones that will support further mods down the road. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

·
Registered
2,063 Posts
poly is a great option now. ive had mine on for over a year. after 6 track days and 50mi weekly commute, including some touge, they still feel like new. they aren't noisy, bind free and have kept my alignment true after 4 track days (will check again soon after the last 2 days) it's confidence inspiring that the car remains straight under threshold braking and steering response is wicked fast. I went full strong flex. I wasn't sold on the figs/super pro no. 2 bushing design but I know people that are content with them. I went for a cheaper option. also, don't forget the ball joints and rear knuckle lca bearing. I did all that and it feels way better than stock. I can't recommend it enough

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is it worth it to press your own bushings or just get new arms with bushings already installed?

·
Registered
2,063 Posts
Is it worth it to press your own bushings or just get new arms with bushings already installed?