Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey - thanks for reading this if you've made it. I've owned my is300 forever and have recently taking an interest in working on it myself. I am not a mechanic - but I've had experience replacing things here and there and I'm pretty good at following directions and have the resources to acquire tools I need.

Recently I started taking things apart to replace my exhaust and do some other minor maintenance things, and in this particular example when I was removing the Air Intake Inlet the bolt that was securing it pretty much just snapped right off. This also happened with one of the nut head things holding down the engine cover. I anticipate it probably won't be the last time I run into this.

I've scoured google, the is300 Repair Manual and Shop Manual, the owner's guide and pretty much everything I can find - but I can't get a single beat on what bolts are used where, part numbers or anything. So what do people do? How do you know find a particular replacement part or bolt when you don't even know what the bolt is?

I'd imagine this is probably a really dumb question to any experience mechanic...

·
Registered
791 Posts
They are all metric threads, so are going to be m6, m8, m10, m12... the threads may be a fine or a coarse pitch thread depending on where its used and into what material. If you are any good with a set of calipers you could measure the bolt od and the thread peak to peak or trough to trough and you will have the thread, otherwise you will need to order one from a dealer or get one from a wreckers yard.

·
Registered
617 Posts