Lexus IS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Not Officially Back
12,205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone enlighten me as to why some dynos have lower torque but high HP, and others have lower hp but higher torque?

Yes, I'm talking PFS 600 hp/tq and SRT 700+hp/500 tq.

Please don't turn this into a tuner roast... I'm not saying that one is better than the other, I'm just wondering what differences in the cars make the HP and tq curves vary.

·
Premium Member
1,875 Posts
the obvious answer i see are the sizes of the turbo, im not an expert on this so i might be wrong

PFS - smaller than SRT's so creates less hp but spools up faster for more tq
SRT - bigger turbo for more hp but takes longer time to spool up therefore creates less tq

·
Registered
2,348 Posts
i am not an expert on turbo matters (or even hp and torque)
but i do know that what trully matters in a dyno is actually the area under the curve, and not just the peak point

ex: 250hp at 3 rpm with max 500 hp at 6.5 rpm vs 100 hp at 3 rpm with max 650hp at 7 rpm (i will rather get the first one over the second)

·
Registered
3,130 Posts
hp = (tq x rpm)/5252

hp will equal tq at 5252rpm, that is a given

if u compare both SRT 4 and PFS 3 dyno:
SRT keeps making lots of torque past 5252rpm, making tons of hp as a result.
PFS 3 peaks at about 5000rpm, but loses it past the peak. lil tq at hp rpm = lil hp.

pfs kit is more drivable thatn srt kit, imo, b/c no one really spends much time at 6000+ rpm.
srt kit is... more of maximum effort, race application, where it'll spend lots of time at high rpms.

--

seeing the dynos once again... is there some good way to retain some of that high tq figger past its peak? more tuning? lil larger turbo? less restriction?

·
Registered
1,784 Posts
you guys nailed it right on the head.

Aldo's car didn't make any torque in the top end, which, for a drag car, is EXACTLY where you need it-