Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to cars, but got myself a 2002 is300 that needs some work. First thing is the battery needs replaced but I have no idea what I should be getting. There seems to be a good amount of options, but having little knowledge in the area I was hoping you all could help me out.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's the plan, just want sure if there was anything I should get/avoid.

·
Registered
2002 Lexus IS300
724 Posts
Avoid one that doesn’t fit your car. Buying a battery is pretty standard stuff tbh. The parts store will help you out no problem.

Reactions: TobiasSing and Kast

·
Registered
2002 Lexus IS300 Sedan
6 Posts
Batteries vary in capabilities and price. I bought my battery (Duralast Gold, part # 24-DLG, 700 cold crank amps, 5 yr warranty) from the local auto parts store for $169.99. Its a little higher rated than what my 2002 IS 300 requires to start but it had the warranty I wanted. Car starts a little quicker and with little effort compared to the last battery. Of course I would've preferred to have the red top optima battery but its a little too excessive for my needs on a 18 year old vehicle I drive once a week. Buy the battery that suits your own individual needs and budget. If you want someone to suggest one for you then I would say I recommend this Duralast Gold battery. Middle of the road quality/capabilities, solid 5 yr warranty, fits nicely in a '02 IS and works like it is supposed to.

P.S. On a 2002 Lexus IS 300 sedan the battery sits on the left side (passenger side) of the engine bay. MAKE SURE you buy a battery that has the positive (+) terminal on the RIGHT side (~~>) of the battery. Your auto parts store should catch this when they help you find a battery but just in case you do it yourself pay attention to that detail. Both versions of the battery I bought were available in the store.
Battery Label.jpg

Battery Top.jpg