Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was readin a wiki article bout double clutchin and, although it seems more taskin than just regular shifting, it seems like it would lower the wear and tear on the transmission, i was wondering if i should start practicing, because although im a fairly new driver i hate it when my car "chugs" during gear changes, so i have gotten to a point where i can shift without feeling it, i always ask my passenger if they felt it, but i dont accelerate very fast cuz im new and still trying to muscle memory the exact spot still. it seems like double clutching would eliminate any of the unnesscary chugs on the lower gears. i was curious, does anybody here double clutch?

·
Registered
1 Posts
There's no to need to double clutch -- any wear and tear savings on the synchros would be canceled out by extra wear on your clutch. In any case, there's really no point in double-clutching on upshifts.

Just learn the bite point of the clutch and your shifts will be smoother. A lot of new drivers don't really have enough left foot sensitivity and cover up deficiencies by adding more throttle to keep the car from stalling. Anyway, find an empty parking lot and do the following: put the transmission into first gear and slowly release the clutch without touching the gas pedal. Practice until you are able to smoothly get the car moving from a standstill without ever having to apply any throttle input. You'd be surprised how even experienced drivers can't do this. Anyway, your left foot will memorize the clutch bite point, your shifting will be smoother, and you won't have to worry about double clutching.

Good luck!

·
Premium Member
7,619 Posts
Unless you drive an old truck or car built in the early 1900's, then you will need to double clutch when you upshift. ;)

On newer cars it is not necessary because they are equip with modern syncromesh gearboxes.