Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Reading the SophieSleeps DRL Mod and the JoeZ Full Power Mod, made me wish there was a switch. People have asked about it, but nobody did it, probably because the functionality is not worth the work. But I’m new to the IS300, I have energy, and I want to contribute. I'm sure I'm not the first to do this, but I didn't see it posted.

So here goes. I think it is a perfect DIY mod. It is cheap, looks good (if you find the right switch), easy, and it is reversible.

As far as the functionality, yes it works, but when will you use it? When do I decide to have it Full, Normal, or Off? Most likely I will leave it off, but if the feeling arises that I want it to be on, or full power, it is only a flick of a switch away.

Here is an overview of the wiring off the car

Here is a video of it in action, please hit ElusiveIS with your rep hammer for hosting this video.

In the video, the DRLs go Off - Full Power (Joez Mod) - Off - Normal - Off - Full - Off - Normal - Off - High Beam. It is a subtle difference, but it is noticeable between the "JoeZ Full Power Mod" and Normal.

http://www.elusivemedia.com/videos/Off - Full - Normal - High Beams.AVI

PARTS LIST:
Double Pole Double Throw (DPDT) Switch
25 feet of 18 AWG Wire
4 female Terminals to match your switch (mine were .250, by chance)
2 Female Terminals .250 to plug into Voltage Reducer
2 Male Terminals .250 to plug into power supply

TOOLS NEEDED:
Coat Hanger
Wire Cutters
Crimpers
Electrical Tape
Solder Gun / Solder
Voltage/Am/Ohm Meter

PREPERATION:
Cut rubber nipple below main wiring loom beside the battery in the engine bay.

Straighten a coat hanger

Poke wire hanger inside hole you opened by cutting rubber nipple

Remove the trim as in the “Fog Mod”, to get entry point access under the dash.

Cut your spool of 25 feet wire into 3 lengths of 8 feet, you will need the left over foot for your "hijacker" wires.