Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some recommendation. I need to find a way to digitize my photos, and I am at the cross road here. I am trying to decide between a good digital SLR (like D60) or a good film scanner. There seems to be many problem with digital SLR still, and it doesn't completely suit my application, as I like to take high speed action (race cars, airplanes, etc.). The D60 can only shoot 8 frames continuously at 3fps. However, using a digital SLR can give me direct access to the photos after shooting them, instead of having to go to the shop and have the film developed, and have the film scanned into the computer.

The question I have is, which one is better for those who has used it? Please don't tell me to get something like G3, because that won't do. It has to be either a good digital SLR, or a good scanner like Canon FS2720U or the FS4000US. I have never used a film scanner before, so any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
660 Posts
daniel...

i used to do pro and freelance photography and dealt with this issue... if you're contemplating a film scanner, i assume you have film bodies and lenses for a specific system (either nikon or canon most likely - assume canon b/c of mention of D60). If i were you, i'd sell off a film body and use that towards the cost of a digital SLR.

i owned a D30 for a year and it was the greatest camera ever - i will never go back to film. i sold it recently because i'm not doing it professionally any more so i didn't need it.